View Active Topics          Latest 100 Topics          View Your Posts          Switch to Mobile

Horror story experience with pseudo-skeptic professor!

Discuss PseudoSkeptics and their Fallacies. Share strategies for debating them.

Horror story experience with pseudo-skeptic professor!

Postby Scepcop » 04 Sep 2009, 04:48

Just received this interesting account today. Boy I didn't know it could get this bad with a pseudo-skeptic!

Hi. I love your website, and your group.

I am a trained Geologist, with a strong interest in the psychic

I had a horrific experience with a pseudo-skeptic.

It is attached.

Thank you and keep up the good work.

This is not a scientific article, it is about a personal professional
experience. If you want to use it, please put it where appropriate.

Here is the story she attached to me.

Oh my!! Where were you when I needed you five years ago? Finding and reading this site has explained so much that happened to me in the Spring of 2004. It helps now, but the damage to me was done then.

At the time, I was a part-time adjunct professor of Geology at a private university. I was approached the year before by another Geology professor about doing a one hour, special topics class on the paranormal.

After working it over, we agreed on an alternating week pattern of covering the same topic from two viewpoints, both supposedly based in science, but pro and con.

You know where this is going, don’t you? As we got closer to the start of the class, I realized that he wasn’t really preparing for the class. He was going to use Sagan’s book, Demon Haunted World, but he really wasn’t thinking any further. I kept talking about the preparation I was doing for my part, and he began to realize that I was serious about presenting this fairly and accurately, and got a little more serious about his approach, but not much.