View Active Topics          View Your Posts
Switch to desktop style
Introduce yourself here!
Forum rules
Post a reply

Cult Survivor

20 Jan 2012, 14:03

I'm not a bot I promise. I am a musician named Mike living in Southern Ontario ,53 ,and this seems like good place for me. You see musicians
aren't scientists and we are quick to go HUH? or at least the ones i know do. So I hope things can be explained to the challenged !
In my life i have gone from the mainstream Christian religions which are mostly harmless fictions to me to self help books, silva, transcendental meditation to an Ontario group called People Searching Inside in the 70's to Swedenborgianism to a 8 year run in a cult called eckankar. When I came to my senses . then I tried to go to an evangelical church though I didn't believe in any literal interpretation of bible scripture for the year i went i liked their music and performing there. Membership does have its privileges. Group goals, charitable work,etc
I liked a 19th century agnostic called Robert Ingersoll, read Dawkins, Hitchens Harris and another guy I forget Donnell?
I joke I believe I wore out my believer.
My mother goes to mass . I think the catholic cult sets my teeth on edge It seems to be a waste of breath to explain this stuff to people. Just tell em god bless and they'll go away soon.
I have a friend now that goes on about the Secret, and Wayne Dyer while he's on disability in an inner city and I've tried gently to tell tell him been there done that sounds good : religious people come up to me and I just can't deal with the insanity. That you are going to influence reality by what you think.I believe my actions lead to more results and it negative things come out of my mouth its just me working out a course of action.